Columbia University in the City of New York

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging Board

The Zuckerman Institute's Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging Board advises Institute leadership on the best practices and structures that contribute to a more inclusive and diverse place of scientific discovery. The Board includes members from the Zuckerman Institute, Columbia University and key partners. The Board helps guide the Institute in directly addressing its goals of diversity and inclusion by both investing in people across the scientific enterprise (including pre- and postdoctoral scientists, staff and faculty) and by creating structures that promote equity.

Board Members

  • Anne L. Taylor, MD

    Vice Dean of Academic Affairs, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

  • Bianca Jones Marlin, PhD

    Principal Investigator, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Dana E. Crawford, PhD

    Scholar-in-Residence, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Daphna Shohamy, PhD

    Kavli Professor of Brain Science; Director and CEO of Columbia's Zuckerman Institute; Codirector of Columbia's Kavli Institute for Brain Science

  • Dennis Mitchell, DDS, MPH

    Executive Vice President for University Life, Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement, and Professor, CUIMC Dental Medicine

  • Dominique Young

    Assistant Director, Human Resources Academic Affairs

  • Ikenna Nebo

    Public Engagement Officer, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Jane Kawaoka, PhD

    Associate Research Scientist, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Jasmine T. Brown

    Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Jennifer Farris

    Chief Operating Officer, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Kimberly Hernandez Palacios

    Doctoral Candidate, Neurobiology and Behavior

  • Latasha Wright, PhD

    Chief Scientific Officer, BioBus

  • Lorraine Smith

    Executive Director for Human Resources and Academic Affairs

  • Michael Shadlen, MD, PhD

    Principal Investigator and Professor of Neuroscience, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Olajide Williams, MD

    Co-Director Wellness Center, Professor and Chief of Staff of Neurology, CUIMC

  • Raffi Cohn, PhD

    Postdoctoral Research Associate and Adjunct Lecturer, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Richard Axel, MD

    Codirector and Professor of Neuroscience, Columbia's Zuckerman Institute

  • Rui Costa, DVM, PhD

    Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology; Former CEO of Columbia's Zuckerman Institute (2017–2022)

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging

Learn More

Connect with us